

BOROUGH OF RUSHMOOR

To the Mayor and Members of the Council,

YOU ARE HEREBY SUMMONED to attend the Annual Meeting of the Council of the Borough of Rushmoor to be held at the Council Offices, Farnborough on *Tuesday*, 22nd May, 2018 at 7.00 pm for the transaction of the business set out on the Agenda given below.

AGENDA

1. ELECTION OF THE MAYOR OF THE BOROUGH

Cr. J.H. Marsh will move and Cr. B. Jones will second:

"That Councillor **STEPHEN JOHN MASTERSON** be elected Mayor of the Borough to hold office until the Annual Meeting of the Council in 2019."

On his election, the Mayor will be invested with the Insignia of Office, take the Chair and make his Declaration of Acceptance of Office in accordance with Section 83 of the Local Government Act, 1972.

The Mayor will address the Meeting and will signify the appointment of Reverend Steve Stewart as the Mayor's Chaplain.

2. VOTE OF THANKS

To record the Council's appreciation of the excellent service rendered by Councillor Sophia Choudhary as Mayor and Miss Attika Choudhary as Mayoress during the Municipal Year 2017/18. An illuminated scroll shall be presented, together with a Past Mayor's Badge, to Councillor Sophia Choudhary and a Past Mayoress Badge to Miss Attika Choudhary.

3. ELECTION OF THE DEPUTY MAYOR

Cr. M.J. Tennant will move and Cr. K. Dibble will second:

"That Councillor **SUE CARTER** be elected Deputy Mayor of the Borough to hold office until the Annual Meeting of the Council in 2019."

On her election, Councillor Sue Carter will be invested with the Deputy Mayor's Badge. She will then make her Declaration of Acceptance of Office in accordance with Section 83 of the Local Government Act, 1972.

4. MINUTES

To confirm the Minutes of the Meeting of the Council held on 19th April, 2018 (copy Minutes herewith).

5. RETURNING OFFICER'S REPORT

To receive the Returning Officer's Report of the names of the persons elected as Borough Councillors at the Elections held on 3rd May, 2018 (copy attached – Annex 1).

6. MAYOR'S COMMUNICATIONS

7. REVIEW OF GOVERNANCE STRUCTURE - STANDING ORDERS FOR THE REGULATION OF BUSINESS

At its meeting on 19th April, 2018 the Council considered and approved updates to the Constitution. In accordance with Council Procedure Rule 29 (1), the proposed amendments to the Standing Orders for the Regulation of Business stood adjourned without discussion. As it is the Annual Meeting, the Council will need to waive its Standing Orders in order to make the changes. A copy of the revised Standing Orders is attached herewith (Annex 2). The recommendation is as follows:

"That Standing Order 29 be waived and that the Council adopt the revised Standing Orders for the Regulation of Business, attached at Annex 2, for inclusion in Part 4 of the Constitution."

8. APPOINTMENT OF THE LEADER OF THE COUNCIL

To consider nominations and appoint the Leader of the Council to hold office until the Annual Council Meeting in 2019. Cr. D.E. Clifford has been nominated by the Conservative Group.

9. **APPOINTMENTS 2018/19**

(1) To note the appointment of the Deputy Leader and the following councillors as Cabinet Members for the Municipal Year 2018/19, to be made by the Leader of the Council:

Cr. K.H. Muschamp - Deputy Leader

Cr. Barbara Hurst - Planning and Economy

Cr. G.B. Lyon - Corporate and Democratic Services

Cr. M.L. Sheehan - Operational Services

Cr. P.G. Taylor - Customer Experience and Improvement

Cr. M.J. Tennant - Major Projects and Property

(2) To consider and approve the Appointments to Committees for the Municipal Year 2018/19 as follows, in accordance with the allocations to achieve political balance indicated:

DEVELOPMENT MANAGEMENT

Voting Members

Conservative: 7 Labour: 3 Independent: 1

Cr. D.B. Bedford Cr. Sue Dibble Cr. D.M.T Bell

Cr. R.M. Cooper Cr. Jennifer Evans Cr. P.I.C. Crerar Cr. C.P. Grattan

Cr. Mara Makunura Cr. A.R. Newell Cr. J.H. Marsh Cr. B.A. Thomas

Standing Deputies

Conservative: Labour: Cr. Veronica Graham-Green Cr. P.F. Rust

NOTE: The Cabinet Member with responsibility for planning matters is to be an ex officio non-voting member of the Development Management Committee

LICENSING AND GENERAL PURPOSES

Voting Members

Conservative: 7 Labour: 3 Liberal Democrat: 1

Cr. Sue Carter Cr. A.H. Crawford Cr. A.K. Chowdhury

Cr. Sophia Choudhary Cr. A.J. Halstead Cr. Liz Corps Cr. B. Jones

Cr. Marina Munro Cr. M.D. Smith Cr. Jacqui Vosper Cr. J.E. Woolley

OVERVIEW AND SCRUTINY

Voting Members

Conservative: 7 Labour: 4

Cr. D.B. Bedford Cr. T. Bridgeman Cr. J.B. Canty Cr. K. Dibble Cr. M.S. Choudhary Cr. B. Jones Cr. R.M. Cooper Cr. Nadia Martin

Cr. Veronica Graham Green

Cr. M.D. Smith Cr. B.A. Thomas

POLICY AND PROJECT ADVISORY BOARD

Voting Members

Conservative: 8 Labour: 3

Cr. J.B. Canty Cr. A.H. Crawford Cr. Sophia Choudhary Cr. M.J. Roberts Cr. P.I.C Crerar Cr. P.F. Rust

Cr. R.L.G. Dibbs Cr. Mara Makunura Cr. Marina Munro Cr. A.R. Newell Cr. J.E. Woolley

(3) To consider the nominations and appoint the Chairman and Vice-Chairman of the Committees (the Conservative Group nominations are set out below):

Development Management

Nominated Chairman - Cr. B.A. Thomas Nominated Vice-Chairman - Cr. J.H. Marsh

Licensing and General Purposes

Nominated Chairman - Cr. J.E. Woolley Nominated Vice-Chairman - Cr. Jacqui Vosper

(4) To consider the nominations and appoint the Chairman of the following Committees (the Conservative Group nominations are set out below):

Overview and Scrutiny

Nominated Chairman - Cr. M.D. Smith

Policy and Project Advisory Board

Nominated Chairman - Cr. A.R. Newell

(5) To consider and approve the Appointments to the Management Boards for the Council Trusts for the Municipal Year 2018/19 as follows, and to authorise each Management Board to make decisions on behalf of the Council by majority vote:

The Aldershot Recreation Ground Trust

Cr. D.B. Bedford Cr. K. Dibble Cr. A.R. Newell

Standing Deputy: Cr. T.D. Bridgeman

King George's Field, Farnborough Trust

Cr. R.L.G. Dibbs Cr. B. Jones Cr. P.G. Taylor

Standing Deputies: Cr. Mara Makunura and Cr. A.J. Halstead

The Alfred Henry Goode Will Trust

Cr. D.E. Clifford Cr. A.H. Crawford Cr. K.H. Muschamp

Standing Deputy: Cr. B. Jones

A.E. COLVER Head of Democratic and Customer Services

Council Offices Farnborough Hampshire GU14 7JU